Dropoff Trip

My family spent the day today flying across the country – to drop the older daughter off for her first year of college.  We landed, made a quick side trip to buy items for the dorm room, and had dinner with friends who live in the area (and who have graciously agreed to act as surrogate family as needed during the coming four years).  Tomorrow my daughter picks up her key and gets to actually see her room – which will immediately result in an inevitable rush to buy the last-minute items that seeing the room trigger.

I’m not sure when the tears will begin – we will be on the east coast with college activities and seeing family in the general area for five days – but I have no doubt that leaving our first child to live somewhere other than home will be difficult for my wife and me. I just don’t know when it will strike.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

