On to Yosemite

Apple unveiled its new operating system, Yosemite, to developers at the Worldwide Developers Conference in June. Those developers gained access to the beta version of Yosemite shortly after WWDC.  Yesterday, the access to the beta 1 was expanded to the general public, and I immediately downloaded it to a test machine.

Apparently, I had a lot of company.  Overnight, the number of macs running Yosemite doubled, according to GoSquared Analytics, which has been measuring the rate of machines running Yosemite connected to the internet on a minute-by-minute basis.  Now, about half of one percent of all macs are running the beta version of the OS.

osxyosemiteadoptionrates

The key thing about beta testing an operating system is to remember that the OS runs the machine.  If the beta OS is not stable, the machine will not be stable.  Thus, no one should ever put a beta-level OS on a machine that is running important tasks.  For me, I put Yosemite on the MacBook Air that I use in the family room to AirPlay video to the Apple TV or to remotely connect to one of the many macs running throughout the house.  Since it acts as a window into other machines, it is a perfect test bed for the OS – a crash will not destroy anything of value.

So far, I am quite pleasantly surprised.  Everything I have tried so far works and works well.  A major caveat is that Continuity, the ability to start a project on one machine and seamlessly shift to another machine (including an iPad or iPhone) does not really work with only one machine using the OS.  If I want to test the feature about which I am most excited, I will need to put Yosemite onto another machine.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “On to Yosemite”

  1. Graham Burnette says :

    As of July 28 – I have been using Yosemite for three days on a 3-year old MacBook Air 11″. The interface is very clean, but the layout is exactly the same as in the previous version of the OS, so here is no learning curve at all.

    The machine was running so well – very quickly – that I turned on full disk encryption. I have long wanted to do that, but held back because I didn’t want to slow down a machine with that additional burden. I cannot tell any slowdown at all so far!

Leave a Reply

