Being Lucky

I’ve been incredibly lucky in my life.  I have been lucky enough to succeed in four careers and loved every one of them.  I was lucky enough to meet the right woman at just the right time and somehow convince her to marry me.  I’m father of two wonderful girls whose horizons in life are limitless.  Through it all, I have recognized that I have been very fortunate – one of my favorite sayings is that I would rather be wrong and lucky than right and unlucky.

But even as I have recognized that the many great things in life that have come my way have appeared through luck as much as through skill, I have never depended on luck.  Luck is a tricky thing.  It comes most to those that prepare and prepare and prepare – in other words, to those who need luck the least.  As Bear Bryant (a childhood hero) said:  “Luck is when preparation meets opportunity.”  A couple of hundred years earlier, Thomas Jefferson said something similar:  “I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have.”

In my experience, hard work is a magnet for good outcomes.  And those good outcomes often differ from what I expected when I was doing the hard work – sometimes better, sometimes not as good, but almost always different in some way.  And when things are unsettled, that is when luck comes into play.

So be lucky.  Work hard, and trust your good luck to find you on its own.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

