Turning Loose and Holding Tight

Congratulations to all members of the Class of 2014 – whether you are graduating from graduate school, college, high school, middle school, elementary school, or even kindergarten.  In all cases, a significant milestone has been achieved.  Special congratulations today to my daughter and her classmates – new graduates of high school as of today.

The ceremony was very much as you would expect – pomp and circumstance, speeches by members of the graduating class – several of which were amazingly insightful –  and by the head of school.  A special guest speaker (and this being Silicon Valley, the speaker was an officer in a well-known tech company who graduated from this school 18 years ago).  Lots of clapping and cheering.  A few songs.

One thing especially struck me.  The head of school noted that today, as the graduating seniors have achieved the goal that they have worked toward for so long, the school (and their parents) want to hold onto them just a little bit longer; exactly at the same time that the graduates are ready to be turned loose.  And I think that is true.  I don’t want to hold my daughter back from her own life forever.  On the contrary, I very much look forward to her making her own way int he world.  I think she will do grew things.  But I would like just a little longer with my little girl before I watch those great things to be accomplished by the woman she has become and still continues to become.

But that is what growing up is all about.  Time does not pause just because we would like it to do so.

And honestly, I think I am more interested in greeting what is to come than I am in holding onto what is now past.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

