The Value of Experience

A few days ago, I wrote about how impressed I was that New York is trying to reuse the infrastructure from its network of pay-phones to be the backbone of a city-wide free WiFi network.  In closing, I mentioned that I believe valuing the new over the experienced is a mistake, and we as a society need to find a way to value – and to access the value – that exists in proven, experienced products and people.

Then, I had lunch with a friend with whom I worked about 15 years ago.  Since then, he has been the VP of marketing for two different companies – one for ten years and the other for five years.  The second of those start-up recently closed, and he is looking for his next opportunity.  However, at 58 years old, he is more interested in joining an established company than take the risk of another start-up.

Even though my contacts are much more in the start-up world than in the larger company world, I have decided to make it a mission to find an opportunity for my friend.  He is talented, and very experienced – but he is likely to have trouble hooking onto a company because of Silicon Valley’s love of the new and the young.  This is especially true among venture-backed companies and even more so in his field of expertise – marketing.

I started writing emails and making calls on his behalf yesterday.  I very much want to make this work.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

